Perspective

Mum is back in hospital with breathing problems at the moment.  We are staying positive, and praying & hoping for the best.  She has been unwell for about 18 months now and things haven’t improved much but that just means it can only get better now.  Sometime things happen that we cannot understand, and most of the time we are not meant to understand them – that’s just the way God works and the way it is.

I really need some perspective on the situation right now, things keep going from bad to worse.  I know God works everything together for good, so I am just waiting for perspective to come through.  Its funny though, I watched a movie in the weekend called Soul Surfer, I didn’t even know it was a Christian movie until I got a little way in.  You’ve probably heard of the movie, it’s about Bethany Hamilton from Hawaii who was just about to start a professional surfing career and loses her arm to a shark attack. The movie is based on a true story of Bethany’s courage to go back into the ocean after the attack and finds perspective on her situation, the film also stars Carrie Underwood – which I have been listening to of late.

Soul Surfer is a very inspirational movie and really helped change my perspective on my mum’s situation. It helped me remember the bible verse below.

‘Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go’ (Joshua 1:9).’

No matter what situations we are in, good, bad or ugly God is there right in the midst of it.  I’ve been at the hospital all week visiting mum and everyone around her has been really negative except my mum and me.  Negativity is really not helpful so I have been praying a lot for God’s grace to cover my mum and me and I have prayed for forgiveness for family members who are being negative at the moment, they think things are bad which they are but they could be worse.  Mum is alive and breathing, and God is here with us!

All of His plans are for us, not against us:

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, ” Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

I know God is with my mum, me and my family I just need all of your prayers right now.

Blessings, I will write again soon xxx

Leave a Reply

