Seasons come and go

I remember when I was growing up; I still am growing up but another post on that later, I would get so excited at the start and end of each season.  Summer days began and ended at the beach with sand between my toes and the wind twirling through my hair.  Running through piles of multi-coloured leaves crunching beneath my feet are my main memories of autumn, it was so much fun.  My dad would rake all the leaves up in the front yard and my sister and I would run up behind him and jump all over his neat pile ; he got so use to it he would just smirk at us when we did it.

Seasons come and go, every three months they change that’s one thing we can rely on and can’t control.  But the season I am in right now hasn’t changed for a while, its been stuck on the same ‘tune’ for 18 months now – change please change!

For the past 18 months my mum has been through a battle that seems like is has no end – in sight!  It all started 12 years ago when her kidney’s started to deteriorate rapidly from a genetic condition (renal bilateral reflux) and about 6 months later she had to go on CAPD dialysis.  It was a massive shock to her and my family.  Her mother and grandmother (my nana and great-grandmother) had suffered from kidney problems but not to this extent so it was (and still is) a scary situation.

In and out of hospital for six months was not fun for anyone involved, especially my mum! It didn’t help that the hospital she was admitted to was an hour and half drive away from the city they live in, so this made things even harder, especially for my dad.  The hospital, overtime, became her second home, where all the nurses knew mum by her first name, Jenny, not Jennifer which is on her medical records – she hates being called that.  Some of mum’s medication was discontinued while others were doubled in dosage – prednisone  was increased from 20 mg to 80 and at one point 100 mg so her kidney’s would not hold any fluid, as she would put on about 3-4 kgs of fluid when she was really unwell.  Fluid which should be filtered out of your body by your kidneys, but for my mum, it was just hanging around in her body and causing her body to swell. When your body holds too much fluid it is usually a sign of kidney problems and can often make you quite unwell.

While mum was in hospital during these 6 months on and off, I would travel down from Auckland  and bring some entertainment with me to cheer her up.  Hospitals are not fun, nor are they a place people want to be, so we made the best of the situation by watching movies on my laptop, talking lots and reading trashy magazines (hehe) it was actually fun, despite the circumstances.  I stayed in the lodge at the hospital for family members and at night-time I would get a security guard to walk me back to the lodge and mum and I would text each other for about an hour talking about silly things before bed – it was like a big sleepover like I use to have when I was a kid.

Seasons come and go, I can’t wait for this season to pass and a fresh season to come!

Until next time …

Leave a Reply

