The law of attraction

Remember ‘The Secret’ that came out in 2006, which took over bookshelves, radio and TV ad space too.  All I remember is seeing and hearing about this secret, some sort of secret which could ‘change’ your life.  So, back in 2009 I let my curiosity take over after watching ‘Oprah’ endorse the film and book.

My naïve self took to the local video store and requested a copy of this ‘best-seller’.  To my disappointment, the video store didn’t have any copies in stock, so I was added to the wait list, along with many others.  A week or so later the movie was read for me to pick up.  I remember sitting in lectures (I was in my last year of university) throughout the day feeling restless and on edge, hoping the day would draw to an end so I could rush off and pick up the, life changing, DVD.

Rushing home, I was looking forward to popping the DVD into my laptop and have it revolutionise my life – just like that! My expectations were very high, like in the children’s movies when someone waves a magic wand and everything you ever dreamed of comes true.  So, 60 minutes later, the DVD was almost finished and my life had NOT changed, I had found out what all the fuss was about ‘the secret’ and zilch, nada, nothing!

All the drama was about ‘the law of attraction’ which Rhonda Byrne, author of The Secret explains, The law of attraction is the name given to the belief that “like attracts like” and that by focusing on positive or negative thoughts, one can bring about positive or negative results (see full explanation here). Well, after all the fuss and hype about this book and film, I was disappointed.  Yes the film had good testimonies from people who had ‘healed’ themselves from cancer, back injuries and financial strive, but I was left feeling cheated! Why you may ask?

Jesus, he is THE answer to all of our problems, issues and life.  Back in 2009 I was not a Christian and was ‘exploring’ my options in spirituality.  I had grown up at Sunday school while I was at primary school and intermediate and I would go to the odd Sunday church service with my godparents, but that was it. When I watched ‘The Secret’ I did not feel fulfilled and my high expectations for the film were left down.  Why is it then that millions of people had watched the film and read the book and were ‘changed’ by it? Why was I not impacted in a positive way? Because it did not align with my values and it did not agree with the core of my beliefs.

It was quite ‘hairy fairy to me’, it’s a bit like the saying ‘if you keep the frown on your face the wind might change and you will look like that forever’ which my mum repetitively used when we were kids.   ‘The secret’ sure didn’t provide the answers to all of my life’s problems, like the hype had promised.  Looking back I am glad the movie did not satisfy my ‘hunger’ for life’s problems because that is not what Jesus has destined for us, to live life in a bubble that only lasts for a few days, weeks, months or years.  ‘The secret’ is based on the law of attraction and loving the universes and it ‘loving you back’, well this is not what I believe in and this website explains it all well.

I would love to hear your point of view on ‘The Secret’ – leave a comment below.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

