New beginnings

“The beginning is the most important part of the work.” ― PlatoThe Republic

Welcome to the New Year of 2013, what a great start it has been. It is already the 6th day and things are coming along swimmingly – especially since the weather is cooperating (mind the pun).

The start of each ‘New Year’ usually begins with high hopes, aspirations and resolutions – aka New Year resolutions. It’s the time of year when we are in full swing for the things to come, full with unattainable dreams and goals – which we forget a month later. Well … that was exactly what I did for many years, but not this year. 2013 is going to be a year with no resolutions, no high hopes and aspirations which will never be fulfilled. Thinking about it like this makes me feel bittersweet, especially since its been a ‘routine’ for at least 10 years. I am breaking the cycle, it is bittersweet now but I will thank myself near the end of the year. I am sick of feeling lazy and upset that I never ‘completed’ all my goals for the year so I am going to do the opposite this year – I am going to live on an impromptu limb.

The things I want to do this year will involve a lot of ad hoc decisions which will be a big change for me since I am an organised freak :).  I am excited for the New Year and cannot wait to see what it brings.

What New Year resolutions / non resolutions have you set? Leave a comment below I would love to hear from you.

Happy New Year!

NYE

Happy New Year 2013 – Photocredit: Bethan

 

Leave a Reply

