Lazy

Know the true value of time; snatch, seize, and enjoy every moment of it. No idleness, no laziness, no procrastination: never put off till tomorrow what you can do today. – Lord Chesterfield

A recent conversation with a friend of mine prompted this blog post, I actually hesitated for a few days because I didn’t want to play ‘devil’s advocate’ too often , or was I just being lazy?

I think it’s the latter.

Human nature lacks motivation, it seems like we all live in a bubble made up of laziness and lacking self-discipline – well most of us anyway. Over the past 26 years of my life I have lacked motivation and thrived off ‘laziness’ which seemed to get me through! But we come to a point when we don’t want to just get by anymore, we realise there is more to life that ‘just getting by’. Once we know there is more out there nothing will quench the thirst, it’s always on our minds.

We need to stop looking out the window and watching the world go by.  Instead we need to start getting out there and exploring the world. Speaking from my past, I use to sit on my bed and stare out the window imagining how people were living their lives (I was only about 10 years old) instead of living my own! How sad is that!

Stop thinking and start acting! After all, we only live once (YOLO) so we need to start living each day purposefully. We need to stop living passively and crying ‘why me?’ all the time and start participating in life. We don’t need permission from anyone to start living, but in case you do – here it is – YOU have been given permission to LIFE your LIVE starting NOW.

Laziness is something I believe we are born with, it is built into our human spirit, but we can keep it ‘under control’ so we can start living our lives. We need to start climbing up that mountain and stop standing at the bottom and being satisfied with watching other people’s achievements. We all have decisions to make every day so start making your decisions to live a fulfilled life now.

Get off the couch, chuck on your walking shoes and head out the door … explore!

Laziness is unattractive

Laziness is unattractive

Leave a Reply

