“Do not trust man”

Brides

Brides (Photo credit: cheriejoyful)

God uses all situations for our good. Today was a prime example.

Do not put your trust in princes, in human beings, who cannot save. Psalm 146:3

Lots of wedding planning is going on at the moment, as it gets closer to ‘the big day’ in the new year. So with it goes a bridal shower.  I’ve been busy the last week or so looking at locations, accommodation, attractions and restaurants for my bridal shower. It sounds like a lot of fun doesn’t it – well its actually rather stressful trying to coordinate dates, times and locations with attendees – especially when your the ‘bride to be’.

I’ve probably been a bit of a ‘bride-zilla’ at least once in the last seven days – my poor fiancée and colleagues. I’d invited old friends from school, my bridesmaids and a new friend that’s come onto the scene. It was all going to plan until people kept changing dates and now one of my close friends cannot come – she has a good excuse I might add.

I started feeling sad and unloved for the rest of the afternoon at work. I look back now and see how silly I was, getting upset because I didn’t get things ‘my’ way.

I feel like a five year old again, having lollies taken off me for bad behaviour.

Then I came home, opened by bible to Psalm 146 and realised my perspective has been wrong from the beginning.

I have been focusing on ‘man’ around me, without  focusing on the creator, the redeemer, the one who gave his life … for me!

Nothing like a ‘jolt’ from Him to realise I need to change my thinking.

I need to remove my ‘worldly’ glasses and put on ‘His’ perspective.

I know if I planned the bridal shower from the start by surrendering it to him, it would have all worked out. – the way He had wanted.

It’s not about me, or them, it should be about God!

After all, he delights when ‘two become one’ after marriage.

With new glasses on, I am signing off.

Thanks for sticking with me.

Agape.

03.365 (02.08.2009) Faith

03.365 (02.08.2009) Faith (Photo credit: hannahclark)

Leave a Reply

